Calvin's Updates

Daily AI briefs, Tesla automotive updates, and Latchkey Club blog drafts in one dated archive.

Tesla daily briefTuesday, September 15, 2026

Tesla Update — 2026-09-15

Tesla News & Deals

Confirmed deals

  • Tesla’s U.S. lease offers did not change from yesterday. Model 3 Rear-Wheel Drive remains $419/month with $3,000 down for 36 months and 10,000 miles/year; Model Y Rear-Wheel Drive remains $499/month with $3,000 down for 36 months and 10,000 miles/year. Both require credit approval, are limited to select leasing states, include a $695 acquisition fee, charge $0.25/mile over the allowance, and exclude taxes, registration, maintenance, insurance and other fees. Using only the disclosed down payment, acquisition fee and 36 payments, the minimum effective costs are $521.64/month for Model 3 and $601.64/month for Model Y; actual costs are higher because Tesla does not publish the full amount due at signing or all taxes and fees. Disposition fees are not stated. Hawaii/ZIP 96825 eligibility must be confirmed in Tesla checkout. What changed: nothing. Confidence: confirmed. Tesla Current Offers

  • Promotional financing is unchanged. New Model 3 Premium RWD, Premium AWD and Performance vehicles remain eligible for 1.99% APR for up to 72 months. Model Y RWD, AWD, Premium RWD and Premium AWD remain eligible for 1.49% APR for up to 72 months; Model Y Performance is 3.99% APR. Tesla requires excellent credit and at least 5% down plus taxes and fees. Model 3 RWD, Model Y L Premium, used vehicles and enterprise sales are excluded; offers are not retroactive or guaranteed to every applicant. Tesla gives no fixed expiration date and does not state combinability with every other incentive, so checkout terms control. What changed: nothing. Confidence: confirmed. Tesla Current Offers

Important Tesla news

  • The 2026 Model 3 now has a five-star overall NHTSA rating. NHTSA’s live ratings search shows 5/5 overall for both AWD and RWD variants. “Later Release” AWD and RWD entries also meet the performance criteria for all ten listed recommended safety technologies; the other two entries show those technology test results as unavailable, so buyers should match the exact variant rather than treating every sub-entry as identical. Owner/buyer impact: this is useful independent crashworthiness evidence for shoppers, but it does not resolve Tesla’s separate driver-assistance investigations. Confidence: confirmed by NHTSA. NHTSA ratings search · Tesla North America announcement

  • Tesla physically debuted the European-spec Semi at IAA Transportation and said European deliveries begin in 2027. This is the material delta from the previously announced Europe plan. Tesla’s published figures, as reproduced from its regional product material, are approximately 550 km (341 miles) at a 40-tonne gross train weight, about 1 kWh/km, and up to 800 kW charging with roughly 60% range recovery in 30 minutes. Pricing, a European Long Range version and a deployed European Megacharger network remain undisclosed. Owner/buyer impact: no direct effect on U.S. passenger-car buyers, but it establishes a commercial launch window while exposing charging-infrastructure and range gaps Tesla still must close. Confidence: credibly reported from Tesla’s IAA display and regional materials; the regional Tesla page was blocked to this unattended check. InsideEVs · Tesla Semi

  • No new Tesla issuer press release or material SEC filing appeared. Tesla IR still lists the July 22 Q2 results as its latest press release, and the SEC issuer page shows no newer material filing. Confidence: confirmed. Tesla press releases · Tesla SEC filings

Rumors and early signals

  • Tesla Insurance estimates may now be appearing inside the vehicle order flow in supported states. Not a Tesla App published screenshots showing an Austin, Texas Model Y RWD estimate of $205/month without FSD usage versus $148/month at 95% FSD usage, with mileage and coverage controls. This is not a universal quote, does not establish Hawaii availability, and could change materially with ZIP, driver profile, coverage and Safety Score. Confidence: unconfirmed/early signal because the configurator presentation was not independently reproduced. What would confirm it: the estimate appearing in Tesla’s live order flow for a specified eligible ZIP and applicant profile, followed by a bindable quote. Original report and screenshots · Tesla Insurance

Deal watch

  • Offers approaching expiration: Tesla says its programs may change or end at any time and publishes no fixed end date. Unofficial trackers cite September 30, but Tesla checkout remains authoritative.
  • Meaningful inventory discounts: no VIN-specific new-vehicle discount for ZIP 96825 was independently verified. Tesla’s inventory page blocked unattended access; Tesla-Info says its U.S. inventory data was updated September 15 but returned no reproducible Hawaii-priced listing in this check. Tesla new inventory · Tesla-Info inventory
  • Signs a stronger promotion may be approaching: quarter-end timing and unverified reports of larger mainland inventory adjustments justify watching, but there is no confirmed national or Hawaii-specific improvement today.
  • Buy now or wait: wait if flexible. Official lease and APR terms did not improve, the effective lease costs remain well above the advertised monthly payments, and no Hawaii VIN discount was verified. Buy now only if Tesla checkout produces a written ZIP 96825 quote whose inventory reduction or financing value outweighs the risk of a stronger quarter-end offer.

Source-access note: Tesla Current Offers, new inventory, IR/press, SEC, Reuters automotive, AP Tesla, InsideEVs, Electrek, Automotive News, CarsDirect, Leasehackr, Tesla-Info, Teslarati, Not a Tesla App and recent Reddit/search results were checked. Tesla inventory and the regional Semi page blocked unattended access; Reddit’s direct feed was also blocked. No other qualifying fresh U.S. deal, recall or software release was independently verified.