Tesla Update — 2026-09-05
Tesla News & Deals
Confirmed deals
No material Tesla offer change was verified since yesterday. Tesla still publishes Model 3 RWD at $419/month and Model Y RWD at $499/month, each for 36 months/10,000 miles per year with $3,000 down and a $695 acquisition fee; Cybertruck Premium AWD remains $1,129/month with $5,000 down under the same term and mileage. CarsDirect’s ZIP 90245 snapshot lists total due at signing of $4,114, $4,194 and $6,825, producing effective monthly costs under the required formula
(due at signing + 36 monthly payments) ÷ 36of $533.28, $615.50 and $1,318.58, respectively, before taxes and other fees. Tesla excludes taxes, registration, maintenance and insurance; requires credit approval and a participating state; charges $0.25 per excess mile; and publishes no disposition fee or fixed expiration. Model 3 Premium RWD/AWD and Performance remain at 1.99% APR for up to 72 months; eligible Model Y RWD/AWD and Premium trims remain at 1.49%, with Performance at 3.99%. Both financing programs require excellent credit and at least 5% down plus taxes and fees; Model 3 RWD, Model Y L Premium, used vehicles and enterprise sales are excluded as specified in Tesla’s terms. These are national/California examples, not a ZIP 96825 approval. What changed: nothing verified. Confidence: confirmed for Tesla’s advertised terms; CarsDirect is a third-party ZIP snapshot. Tesla Current Offers · CarsDirectDo not rely on the APR printed on an inventory card. Tesla’s accessible inventory results still show 0.99% APR on some Model Y listings, but Tesla’s authoritative Current Offers terms say new eligible Model Y orders placed September 3 or later are 1.49% APR. The final order agreement and finance approval control. What changed: no program change; this is a newly verified site inconsistency. Confidence: confirmed from Tesla’s two live pages. Tesla new inventory · Tesla Current Offers
Important Tesla news
FSD (Supervised) v14.3.9 is coming with automatic collision-evasion intervention during manual driving. Tesla AI said the release will begin rolling out “shortly” and can activate FSD when an imminent collision is detected and Automatic Emergency Braking may be insufficient; it may also intervene when the driver appears heavily distracted or FSD was accidentally disengaged. This is an announcement, not proof of fleet-wide availability. Tesla has not publicly specified eligible hardware, whether an active $99/month FSD subscription is required, opt-out behavior, rollout sample size or a completed safety validation. Owners should continue treating FSD as Level 2 driver assistance and verify the installed vehicle version before assuming the feature is active. Owner impact: potentially significant active-safety behavior because the car may steer while the driver is otherwise operating manually. Confidence: confirmed as a Tesla-announced forthcoming feature; availability remains staged/unverified. Tesla AI announcement · Electrek · Tesla FSD support
Cybercab access moved from invitation-only demonstrations to a stated public opening in Austin. Tesla’s Robotaxi account announced that Cybercab rides would open to the public at 5:00 p.m. Central on September 4. This is the concrete delta from yesterday’s limited launch. InsideEVs reports only 45 Cybercabs were registered in Texas, two seats per vehicle, Austin-only availability, and no retail-sale access; Tesla still has not published Cybercab purchase pricing or delivery terms. Owner/buyer impact: a real commercial-access milestone, but it does not make privately owned Teslas autonomous or available for Tesla’s ride-hailing fleet. Confidence: confirmed for Tesla’s public-opening announcement; credibly reported for fleet and operating details. Tesla Robotaxi announcement · Tesla Robotaxi · InsideEVs
Tesla disclosed a rare-earth-free Cybercab motor, but the engineering details remain incomplete. Elon Musk said the Cybercab motor uses no rare-earth metals while maintaining range. Material shown around the launch described the drive unit as 18% smaller and 25% lighter than other top-performing EV drive units, with a simplified bar-wound stator and lubrication system. Tesla has not disclosed the magnet/material chemistry, the efficiency baseline, cost, production volume, independent test data or plans to migrate the design to consumer models. Owner/buyer impact: the main potential benefit is supply-chain resilience and compact packaging, not a verified near-term improvement to Model 3/Y ownership. Confidence: confirmed company claim; performance comparisons are not independently validated. Elon Musk’s statement · Electrek technical context
No new Tesla issuer filing or IR press release appeared. The SEC submissions feed still lists the July 23 Form 10-Q as Tesla’s latest issuer filing, excluding insider/ownership filings, while Tesla IR still lists the July 22 earnings release as its newest press release. Owner/buyer impact: no new Tesla-filed financial, recall or product disclosure changes today’s purchase decision. Confidence: confirmed. Tesla SEC filings · Tesla press releases
Rumors and early signals
- No separate rumor clears the bar for inclusion today. Detailed claims that collision evasion requires a paid FSD license, works only in North America, or ships inside software build 2026.27.5 remain tracker reports until Tesla publishes release notes or owners receive the build at measurable scale. Confirmation would require Tesla documentation plus observed public installations. Not a Tesla App tracker report
Deal watch
- Offers approaching expiration: Tesla itself gives no fixed end date for the leases, APR programs, $500 American Heroes discount, 30-day FSD trial or 2,000-mile gas/hybrid trade-in perk. CarsDirect’s ZIP 90245 cards label the current lease examples as expiring September 30, but that is a third-party snapshot—not confirmation for Hawaii. Tesla Current Offers · CarsDirect
- Meaningful inventory discounts: accessible Tesla inventory still shows 2026 Model Y Premium AWD demo reductions of roughly $660–$1,420, but no delivery location or ZIP 96825 eligibility was exposed and no larger discount than yesterday was verified. Confirm the VIN, mileage, Hawaii delivery and final APR in the order flow. Tesla new inventory
- Signs a stronger promotion may be approaching: quarter-end timing and demo markdowns create some possibility, but Tesla just raised Model Y APR from 0.99% to 1.49% and published no Hawaii-specific incentive, zero-down lease, cash rebate or FSD-transfer program.
- Buy now or wait: wait if the purchase is not urgent. Today’s product news does not improve consumer Model 3/Y economics, the inventory-page APR is internally inconsistent, and Hawaii eligibility remains unverified. Buy only if Tesla’s final ZIP 96825 order flow confirms the exact vehicle, discount and financing; otherwise reassess later in September.
Source-access note: Tesla Current Offers, inventory, IR, press and SEC records were checked directly. Reuters and AP watchlist pages were checked; their Cybercab regulatory coverage added no material delta beyond yesterday’s report. Automotive News and some InsideEVs/watchlist index extraction was limited, but the relevant InsideEVs Cybercab article was accessible. Leasehackr exposed no fresh September Tesla terms, Tesla-Info did not establish Hawaii inventory discounts, and Reddit search produced no independently verifiable update.