Calvin's Updates

Daily AI briefs, Tesla automotive updates, and Latchkey Club blog drafts in one dated archive.

Tesla daily briefFriday, September 4, 2026

Tesla Update — 2026-09-04

Tesla News & Deals

Confirmed deals

  • Model Y promotional financing worsened after the September 3 brief. Tesla’s U.S. Current Offers page now lists 1.49% APR for up to 72 months on Model Y Rear-Wheel Drive, All-Wheel Drive, Premium Rear-Wheel Drive and Premium All-Wheel Drive, up from 0.99% yesterday. Model Y Performance remains 3.99% APR, while Model Y L Premium, used vehicles and enterprise sales remain excluded. The new terms apply to vehicles ordered September 3, 2026 or later, require excellent credit and at least 5% down plus taxes and fees, cannot be applied retroactively, and have no published expiration; Tesla does not state full combinability rules. At Tesla’s disclosed payment factors, the change is from $14.32 to $14.54 per $1,000 financed. On a $45,000 vehicle with the minimum 5% down ($42,750 financed, before taxes and fees), that is about $9.40 more per month and $677.16 more over 72 payments. This is a national offer, not a ZIP 96825 approval; Hawaii availability and the final rate must be checked in Tesla’s configurator. What changed: +0.50 percentage point. Confidence: confirmed from Tesla-published terms. Tesla Current Offers

  • Lease terms and Model 3 financing did not materially change. Tesla still advertises a Model 3 RWD lease from $419/month and Model Y RWD from $499/month, each for 36 months/10,000 miles per year with $3,000 down and a $695 acquisition fee; Cybertruck Premium AWD remains $1,129/month with $5,000 down under the same term and mileage. Taxes, registration, maintenance and insurance are excluded; credit approval and a participating state are required; excess mileage is $0.25/mile; no disposition fee or fixed expiration is published. Effective scheduled costs before taxes and other fees are $521.64, $601.64 and $1,287.19 per month, respectively. Model 3 Premium RWD, Premium AWD and Performance remain advertised at 1.99% APR for up to 72 months, with excellent credit and at least 5% down; base Model 3 RWD is excluded. These are national examples, not Hawaii quotes. What changed: nothing verified. Confidence: confirmed. Tesla Current Offers · Tesla leasing details

Important Tesla news

  • Cybercab moved from teaser to limited passenger service in Austin. Tesla’s Robotaxi page says autonomous rides are offered in Austin and five other U.S. cities, while Reuters and AP report that Tesla began offering rides in its two-seat Cybercab—without a steering wheel or pedals—in limited parts of Austin after Thursday’s invitation-only event. Reuters reported 45 Cybercabs among 420 Tesla autonomous vehicles registered in Texas and said Tesla did not disclose when fares would begin or how many riders could actually secure a Cybercab. Tesla also opened a business-interest form covering possible Cybercab fleet purchases, mobility hubs and infrastructure, but that form is not an order page and contains no price, delivery date or eligibility commitment. Owner/buyer impact: this is a real deployment milestone, but it does not make privately owned Teslas autonomous, open Cybercab retail sales, or prove city-scale availability. Confidence: confirmed for Tesla’s live service and interest pages; credibly reported for fleet counts and operating details. Tesla Robotaxi · Tesla fleet-interest form · Reuters · AP

  • NHTSA opened a compliance audit covering about 1,000 Cybercabs, according to Reuters. The agency is examining the technical basis on which Tesla certified the vehicle despite lacking permanently attached steering, brake, accelerator and mirror hardware, including whether Tesla determined that some Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards did not apply. Reuters said this is an audit of Tesla’s certification basis—not a recall—and that Tesla had not immediately commented. Owner/buyer impact: the audit could constrain expansion or require changes, but no stop-use order, recall or defect finding has been reported. Confidence: credibly reported from Reuters quoting NHTSA; no public NHTSA docket was located before publication. Reuters syndication with the agency’s statement · NHTSA automated-vehicle resources

  • Tesla said its Robotaxi fleet passed one million unsupervised miles. At the Cybercab event, Tesla AI chief Ashok Elluswamy said the fleet had reached the milestone, up from 380,000 miles disclosed at the July 22 earnings call—an additional 620,000 in roughly six weeks. This is a company-reported exposure figure, not an independently audited safety rate; Electrek notes that Waymo recently reported 200 million driverless miles, and mileage alone does not establish comparative safety. Owner/buyer impact: Tesla’s autonomous operating sample is growing, but this does not change consumer FSD (Supervised), which still requires an attentive driver. Confidence: credibly reported company claim; not independently audited. Electrek · Tesla FSD support

  • No new Tesla issuer filing or IR press release appeared. The SEC submissions feed still shows the July 23 Form 10-Q as Tesla’s latest issuer filing, excluding later insider/ownership filings, and Tesla IR still lists its July 22 earnings release as the newest press release. Owner/buyer impact: there is no new Tesla-filed financial or product disclosure beyond the Cybercab operating update. Confidence: confirmed. Tesla SEC filings · Tesla press releases

Rumors and early signals

  • No separate rumor clears the bar for inclusion today. Reports of Cybercabs appearing outside Austin and screenshots suggesting broader availability remain sightings or app-level clues. The next confirmation would be Tesla naming another Cybercab service area, publishing retail/fleet prices and delivery terms, or a regulator listing the vehicles in a commercial fleet. Tesla Robotaxi

Deal watch

  • Offers approaching expiration: Tesla publishes no fixed expiration for the current leases, APR programs, $500 American Heroes discount, 30-day FSD trial or 2,000-mile gas/hybrid trade-in perk; all can change at any time. Third-party incentive trackers showing September 30 should not override Tesla’s undated terms. Tesla Current Offers
  • Meaningful inventory discounts: Tesla’s official inventory page exposed several 2026 Model Y Premium AWD demo vehicles reduced by $660 to $1,420, with roughly 1,287–3,105 miles in the examples retrieved. The page did not expose a ZIP or delivery location in the accessible result, so these are not confirmed for Hawaii or ZIP 96825 and may be mainland-only or stale by the time Jay opens them. Verify the exact VIN, delivery location and final price before ordering. Tesla new inventory
  • Signs a stronger promotion may be approaching: mixed. Tesla weakened Model Y financing from 0.99% to 1.49% even as quarter-end approaches, which argues against assuming an immediate richer national APR. Demo discounts show inventory-level pressure, but no Hawaii-specific cut, zero-down lease, FSD transfer or broader cash incentive was verified.
  • Buy now or wait: wait if the purchase is non-urgent or Hawaii inventory is limited; the Model Y APR moved in the wrong direction and the visible demo markdowns were not tied to ZIP 96825. If Jay needs an eligible Model 3 now, 1.99% financing remains the stronger verified program. For a Model Y needed immediately, lock only after Tesla’s configurator confirms Hawaii delivery, 1.49% approval and the exact inventory price; do not rely on the former 0.99% quote.

Source-access note: Tesla’s freshly indexed Current Offers terms showed the September 3 Model Y APR change, while one cached text extraction still returned the prior 0.99% copy; Tesla’s live configurator is the final authority. Tesla IR was Akamai-blocked, so IR freshness was cross-checked against its indexed press page; the SEC submissions JSON was queried directly. CarsDirect timed out, Leasehackr exposed no fresh Tesla terms, and the available Tesla-Info result did not establish Hawaii discounts.